Beloved

22 Mar

 

be·lov·ed
adjective
1.  dearly loved.
synonyms: darling, dear, dearest, precious, adored, much loved, cherished, treasured, prized, highly regarded, admired, esteemed, worshiped, revered, venerated, idolized

 

Morning light

Quiet

A Long run

Cold water on a hot day

Swimming

Laughter

Riding my bike

Wind

Rain

Sun

Back roads

Grasshoppers skimming from weed to weed

The smell of cut grass

My Dad

Small towns

Bakeries

Diners

(With a hard preference for the old rail car variety over the giant, novel-length menu, Jersey variety.)

Trees

Rivers

Being lost

But not that lost

Michigan

And it’s music (Bob Seger)

Grand Haven

Khardomah

Shaving in the sun, window open with a view through the trees.

London

And all it’s boltholes

History.  Near, and brushed against.

And the trains

Withnail and I

The Orkney sky

Radio

Late at night and early in the morning

The BBC

Robert Elms

Open Country

His Finest Hour

Road trips

Motels

And their pools in the afternoon light

Kids

Wild Flowers

Okie Donuts

And kindness

My neighborhood

My friends

The little patch of dirt I call a garden

A slow afternoon in the kitchen

Cooking

With wine

Especially the reds of Italy

(I could go on)

Waking up after a snowstorm with nowhere to go

Soft warm socks

And a good book

Jim Harrison

Michael Palin’s diaries

The music of Gavin Clark.

Time alone

Skating the smooth ice of a frozen lake

The evening sky ablaze

Hope

And People

Family

Mom

Sister

Brothers

Hallie, nearby, as I’m falling asleep

Heath, with his arm across my shoulders

And Amy, who illuminates it all and makes my life shine.

 

6 Responses to “Beloved”

  1. Jens Rasmussen March 22, 2017 at 9:06 am #

    I love that you’re still writing. And sharing it!

    • dtoddbell March 22, 2017 at 9:08 am #

      Thanks Jens. I hope things are going well over in Greenpoint.

  2. Tim March 22, 2017 at 10:04 am #

    Lovely. Simply lovely.

  3. Lucille Pirri March 22, 2017 at 3:59 pm #

    You always make me SMILE every time I read your blog – I too love many of the things you shared that you love – most especially the wines from Italy and “waking up in the snowstorm with nowhere to go” – my very favorite now that I am a ripe old 76! AMY – you are so lovely! Love to everyone – Lucille & Frank

  4. Barbara Stressman-Bell-Collins March 23, 2017 at 8:10 am #

    It is not a wonder we enjoyed our trip together…we think alike! Mom

  5. dtoddbell March 23, 2017 at 9:47 am #

    Always good to hear from you Lucille. You are forever young.

Leave a Reply

